Son Nguyen

Geoscience Division

Son Nguyen

Son Nguyen,
Geoscience Technical Specialist

Son has worked for the CNSC since 1982. As a Geoscience Technical Specialist, he uses geoscientific and engineering principles to assess the safety of nuclear installations.

Son also conducts research in collaboration with Canadian and international partners to keep up to date with scientific and engineering developments and to ensure that licensing decisions are based on science.

Expertise and education

Son holds a bachelor of engineering and master of engineering in civil engineering from Université de Sherbrooke, and a PhD in civil engineering and applied mechanics from McGill University. He holds his professional engineering designation (P.Eng.) affiliated with the Ordre des Ingénieurs du Québec. Son is also a 2-time recipient of the CNSC President’s Merit Award and is chair of an International Atomic Energy Agency project related to demonstrating the safety of geological disposal of radioactive waste. He’s also an adjunct professor at the University of Ottawa, and is the author of more than 50 papers in peer-reviewed scientific journals and many more in conference proceedings.

Current research and projects

Project: Canadian Nuclear Laboratories’ proposed near surface disposal facility (NSDF). As part of the CNSC’s review of this proposed facility, Son is reviewing the safety case through a suite of documents that provide multiple arguments to demonstrate that the proposed NSDF will be safe for people and the environment during construction, operation, closure, and post-closure. He reviews and performs independent assessment of geotechnical, seismic and hydrogeological aspects that would influence the safety and performance of the proposed NSDF.

Date modified:

Son Nguyen

Division des géosciences

Son Nguyen

Son Nguyen,
Spécialiste technique en géoscience

Son travaille à la CCSN depuis 1982. En tant que spécialiste technique en géoscience, il utilise des principes géoscientifiques et d’ingénierie pour évaluer la sûreté des installations nucléaires.

Son mène également des recherches en collaboration avec des partenaires canadiens et internationaux pour se tenir au courant des développements en science et en ingénierie, et s’assurer que les décisions en matière de permis sont fondées sur la science.

Expertise et éducation

Son est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en ingénierie et d’une maîtrise en génie civil de l’Université de Sherbrooke ainsi que d’un doctorat en génie civil et en mécanique appliquée de l’Université McGill. Il détient le titre d’ingénieur professionnel (ing.) et est affilié à l’Ordre des ingénieurs du Québec. Son a été deux fois récipiendaire du Prix d’excellence de la présidente de la CCSN et préside un projet de l’Agence internationale de l’énergie atomique visant à démontrer la sûreté du stockage des déchets radioactifs dans des formations géologiques. Il est professeur auxiliaire à l’Université d’Ottawa en plus d’être l’auteur de plus de 50 articles publiés dans des revues scientifiques évaluées par des pairs et de nombreuses autres publications dans des comptes rendus de conférences.

Recherches et projets actuels

Projet : Installation de gestion des déchets près de la surface (IGDPS) des Laboratoires Nucléaires Canadiens. Dans le cadre de l’examen de cette installation proposée que réalise la CCSN, Son passe en revue le dossier de sûreté grâce à une série de documents qui fournissent de nombreux arguments visant à démontrer que l’IGDPS proposée sera sans danger pour les personnes et l’environnement pendant la construction, l’exploitation, la fermeture et après la fermeture. Il effectue également l’examen et l’évaluation indépendante des aspects géotechniques, sismiques et hydrogéologiques qui sont susceptibles d’influer sur la sûreté et le rendement de l’IGDPS proposée.

Dernière mise à jour :