Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission Potassium Iodide (KI) Pill Working Group

Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission Potassium Iodide (KI) Pill Working Group (PDF 52 kb)

Interested parties should address their written comments to CNSC consultation at cnsc.consultation.ccsn@canada.ca.

Draft Terms of reference

December 2018

Summary

The Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) held a public hearing from June 25–29, 2018 to consider the licence renewal application from Ontario Power Generation for the Pickering Nuclear Generating Station. A number of intervenors raised concerns about the distribution of potassium iodide (KI) pills in the event of an emergency, and more specifically, how the vulnerable population (children under 18, pregnant women and breastfeeding women) would obtain these pills.

At the hearing, CNSC staff made a commitment to the Commission to form a working group to provide clarity on the existing plans and associated responsible authorities to distribute KI pills (in the Ingestion Planning Zone, within a 50-km radius) in the event of an emergency at the Pickering Nuclear Generating Station. Responsibilities and guidance for planning, preparedness and response regarding iodine thyroid blocking are detailed in the Provincial Nuclear Emergency Response Plan (Master Plan and Implementing Plans).

This document details the terms of reference for this working group.

1.0 Mandate

1.1 The mandate of the CNSC Potassium Iodide (KI) Pill Working Group (the Working Group) is to provide clarity on the existing plans and associated responsible authorities for distributing KI pills in the Ingestion Planning Zone in the event of an emergency at the Pickering Nuclear Generating Station. The Working Group will work cooperatively and proactively to fulfill its mandate in a timely manner.

1.2 To fulfill its mandate, the Working Group will focus on: the current provincial and federal requirements for the distribution of KI pills; considerations and education concerning KI pill emergency distribution in the Ingestion Planning Zone; the means of KI pill distribution in relation to other factors associated with a nuclear emergency response; and, the availability and scope of public emergency preparedness information.

2.0 Membership

2.1 The Working Group is composed of representatives from the CNSC, the Office of the Fire Marshal and Emergency Management (OFMEM), the Ontario Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care (MOHLTC) and Ontario Power Generation (OPG), and each organization is a signatory to these terms of reference. The CNSC representatives are from the Directorate of Power Reactor Regulation and the Directorate of Security and Safeguards. The OFMEM, MOHLTC and OPG may select up to two permanent representatives each for the Working Group.

2.2 The Municipality of Durham and the City of Toronto may also select one permanent representative each for the Working Group.

2.3 The OFMEM and MOHLTC will engage with other municipalities and public health units that fall within the Ingestion Planning Zone, with the support of the CNSC and OPG, as needed.

2.4 The chairperson is selected from among the CNSC representatives by CNSC senior management. The chairperson’s role is to prepare the agenda for Working Group meetings, chair the Working Group meetings, and take responsibility for all organizational and communication issues. The chairperson can delegate their duties to the other CNSC representative at any time.

2.5 Three co-chairs are selected, one each from the OFMEM, MOHLTC and OPG, to serve as the primary contact for organizational issues and communication purposes. Co-chairs can delegate their duties to the other OFMEM, MOHLTC or OPG representatives at any time.

2.6 The chairperson and co-chairs are responsible for inviting any person(s) to participate in or observe meetings of the Working Group.

2.7 A representative of the CNSC serves as secretary for the Working Group. The secretary is responsible for the recording and distribution of meeting minutes, the distribution of all documents related to Working Group meetings, and any communications required in support of the Working Group.

2.8 Each member is responsible for meeting the timelines and objectives agreed to by the Working Group. All members are accountable for their area of responsibility. Members have the authority to negotiate and enlist the help of other staff, as needed. Because good communication is fundamental for success, members must inform the chairperson and co- chairs that a commitment cannot be met as soon as they know or suspect this to be so, and they must negotiate an alternate date or make alternate arrangements. Members are responsible for bringing any risk issues to the attention of the chairperson and co-chairs in a timely manner.

3.0 Meetings

3.1 The Working Group will meet a minimum of once every six weeks. Additional meetings can be held with the consensus of the Working Group. The preferred method for Working Group meetings is face to face, but video and teleconferencing are also options.

3.2 Barring unforeseen circumstances, Working Group members who are unable to attend must notify the chairperson or the co-chair of their absence at least three working days before the meeting. Members have the option to participate by video or teleconferencing.

3.3 The chairperson is responsible for determining the time and place of the meetings. All members of the Working Group assume responsibility for their personal costs to attend.

3.4 The CNSC is responsible for the costs associated with the meeting, such as room rental and any associated hospitality. The Working Group members assume responsibility for the cost of their lunches or dinners.

3.5 The objective is to send the agenda to the Working Group members one week before a meeting. Any documents required will be distributed at least three days before the meeting. The secretary of the Working Group will distribute a draft copy of the minutes no later than two weeks after each meeting. Members will have 10 working days to provide comments to the secretary so that the minutes can be prepared for approval at the next meeting.

4.0 Deliverables

4.1 The Working Group is responsible for the following deliverables cooperatively:

  • Develop draft terms of reference
  • Finalize the terms of reference and distribute them to the responsible authorities of the CNSC, OFMEM, MOHLTC and OPG identified in section 6 for signature
  • Prepare a report on the initial findings of the Working Group
  • Finalize the report on the findings of the Working Group to be provided to the Commission

4.2 CNSC staff are responsible for the following deliverables:

  • Post the draft terms of reference on the CNSC website for a 30-day public comment period
  • Post the draft report on the initial findings on the CNSC website for a 30-day public comment period
  • Produce and present the appropriate Commission member document(s) in support of the Commission’s public meeting on this project. Meeting materials will be made publicly available in accordance with the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission Rules of Procedure.

4.3 CNSC staff will establish a special committee for the purpose of advising CNSC staff. Composition of the committee will be established by the CNSC.

4.4 The Working Group will develop a project plan, outlining the deliverables and anticipated timelines.

4.5 CNSC staff will provide progress updates on the completion of all deliverables identified in point 4.1 and 4.2 to the Commission through the status report on power reactors.

4.6 The Working Group will provide progress updates on all deliverables identified in point 4.1 and 4.2 to the Nuclear Emergency Management Coordinating Committee.

5.0 Review of the terms of reference

5.1 The terms of reference are not intended to limit the effectiveness of the team; rather, they are meant to provide direction on team organization and work processes. This document can be reviewed and amended as needed with the agreement of all Working Group members. All amendments must be approved by the signatories to these terms of reference.

6.0 Management oversight

6.1 CNSC senior management will provide high-level strategic direction on systemic opportunities for improvement relating to the Working Group terms of reference, roles and responsibilities, and critical issues.

6.2 The Working Group members are responsible for disseminating any information from their respective senior management to the Working Group and ensuring any issues brought to the Working Group are raised with their senior management.

6.3 The senior management of all signatory parties may also engage directly, as needed.

7.0 Management approval

I concur with these terms of reference and support the Working Group members and associated responsibilities.

Once these terms of reference have been signed, the Working Group will be enacted.

[Name]
[Title]
Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission

[Name]
[Title]
Office of the Fire Marshal and Emergency Management

[Name]
[Title]
Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care

[Name]
[Title]
Ontario Power Generation

Date modified:

Groupe de travail de la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire sur les comprimés d'iodure de potassium (KI)

Groupe de travail de la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire sur les comprimés d'iodure de potassium (KI) (PDF 77 kb)

Les parties intéressées peuvent soumettre leurs commentaires écrits à cnsc.consultation.ccsn@canada.ca.

Ébauche de mandat

Décembre 2018

Résumé

La Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) a tenu une audience publique du 25 au 29 juin 2018 afin d’examiner la demande de renouvellement de permis d’Ontario Power Generation pour la centrale nucléaire de Pickering. Certains intervenants ont soulevé des préoccupations concernant la distribution des comprimés d’iodure de potassium (KI) en cas d’urgence, et plus particulièrement, la façon dont la population vulnérable (enfants de moins de 18 ans, femmes enceintes et femmes qui allaitent) obtiendrait ces comprimés.

Au cours de l’audience, le personnel de la CCSN a fait part à la Commission de son engagement à former un groupe de travail dans le but de fournir plus de précisions sur les plans existants et les autorités responsables de la distribution des comprimés de KI (dans la zone de planification du contrôle de l’ingestion – rayon de 50 km) en cas d’urgence à la centrale nucléaire de Pickering. Les responsabilités ainsi que l’orientation pour la planification, la préparation et l’intervention concernant le blocage thyroïdien par iode sont décrites en détail dans le Plan provincial d’intervention en cas d’urgence nucléaire (plan directeur et plans de mise en œuvre).

Le présent document décrit en détail le mandat de ce groupe de travail.

1.0 Mandat

1.1 Le mandat du Groupe de travail sur les comprimés d’iodure de potassium (le Groupe de travail) consiste à fournir des précisions sur les plans existants et les autorités responsables de la distribution des comprimés de KI dans la zone de planification d’urgence pour l’exposition par ingestion en cas d’incident survenant à la centrale nucléaire de Pickering. Le Groupe de travail collaborera et agira de manière proactive pour s’acquitter de son mandat en temps opportun.

1.2 Pour s’acquitter de son mandat, le Groupe de travail se concentrera sur les exigences provinciales et fédérales pour la distribution de comprimés de KI; les facteurs à prendre en considération et l’éducation en lien avec la distribution de comprimés de KI dans la zone de planification d’urgence pour l’exposition par ingestion; les moyens d’assurer la distribution des comprimés de KI par rapport à d’autres facteurs associés à une intervention en cas d’urgence nucléaire; ainsi que la disponibilité et la portée de l’information publique relativement à la préparation en cas d’urgence.

2.0 Composition

2.1 Le Groupe de travail se compose de représentants de la CCSN, du Bureau du commissaire des incendies et de la gestion des situations d’urgence de l’Ontario (BCIGSUO), du ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée de l’Ontario (MSSLDO) et d’Ontario Power Generation (OPG); et chaque organisation est signataire du présent mandat. Les représentants de la CCSN proviennent de la Direction de la réglementation des centrales nucléaires et de la Direction de la sécurité et des garanties. Le BCIGSUO, le MSSLDO et OPG peuvent désigner jusqu’à deux représentants permanents au sein du Groupe de travail.

2.2 La municipalité de Durham et la Ville de Toronto peuvent également choisir un représentant permanent chacun au sein du Groupe de travail.

2.3 Le BCIGSUO et le MSSLDO mobiliseront d’autres municipalités ainsi que les services de santé publique se trouvant dans la zone de planification d’urgence pour l’exposition par ingestion, avec le soutien de la CCSN et d’OPG, selon les besoins.

2.4 Le président est choisi par la haute direction de la CCSN parmi les représentants de la CCSN. Son rôle est de préparer l’ordre du jour des réunions et de présider les réunions du Groupe de travail. Il est également chargé de toutes les questions relatives à l’organisation et à la communication. Le président peut en tout temps déléguer ses fonctions à l’autre représentant de la CCSN.

2.5 Trois coprésidents sont choisis, un chacun du BCIGSUO, du MSSLDO et d’OPG, qui serviront de principaux points de contact pour les questions relatives à l’organisation et à la communication. Les coprésidents peuvent en tout temps déléguer leurs fonctions à l’autre représentant du BCIGSUO, du MSSLDO ou d’OPG.

2.6 Le président et les coprésidents sont chargés d’inviter toute personne à participer aux réunions du Groupe de travail ou à y assister à titre d’observateur.

2.7 Un représentant de la CCSN joue le rôle de secrétaire du Groupe de travail. Celui-ci est chargé de rédiger et de distribuer les procès-verbaux de toutes les réunions, ainsi que de transmettre tous les documents relatifs aux réunions et toute autre communication à l’appui du Groupe de travail.

2.8 Chaque membre de l’équipe est chargé de respecter les échéances et d’atteindre les objectifs convenus par le Groupe de travail. Tous les membres sont tenus de rendre des comptes pour leur secteur de responsabilité. Les membres ont le pouvoir de négocier et de solliciter l’aide d’autres employés, au besoin. Puisque la communication efficace est un principe fondamental de la réussite, les membres doivent informer le président et les coprésidents dès qu’ils savent ou croient qu’un engagement ne pourra être respecté, puis ils doivent négocier une autre date ou prendre d’autres dispositions. De plus, les membres doivent informer rapidement le président et les coprésidents de tous les enjeux émergents en matière de risque.

3.0 Réunions

3.1 Le Groupe de travail se rencontrera au moins une fois toutes les six semaines. Des réunions supplémentaires peuvent avoir lieu avec le consensus du Groupe de travail. Il est préférable que les réunions aient lieu en personne, mais la vidéoconférence et la téléconférence sont d’autres options envisageables.

3.2 Sauf en cas de circonstances imprévues, les membres du Groupe de travail ne pouvant se présenter doivent en aviser le président ou les coprésidents au moins trois jours ouvrables avant la réunion. Les membres ont la possibilité de participer par vidéoconférence ou téléconférence.

3.3 Il incombe au président de déterminer une date et un lieu pour la tenue des réunions. Tous les membres du Groupe de travail assument les dépenses personnelles entraînées par leur présence aux réunions.

3.4 La CCSN se charge des frais relatifs à la réunion, comme les frais d’accueil et de location de salles de réunion. Les frais de repas sont à la charge des membres du Groupe de travail.

3.5 L’objectif consiste à envoyer l’ordre du jour aux membres du Groupe de travail une semaine avant chaque réunion. Les documents requis seront distribués au moins trois jours avant la réunion. Le secrétaire du Groupe de travail distribuera une ébauche du procès-verbal au plus tard deux semaines après chaque réunion. Les membres auront 10 jours ouvrables pour fournir leurs commentaires au secrétaire afin que l’on puisse préparer le procès-verbal en vue de son approbation lors de la réunion suivante.

4.0 Produits livrables

4.1 Le Groupe de travail doit effectuer les tâches suivantes en collaboration :

  • Élaborer l’ébauche du mandat.
  • Finaliser le mandat et le transmettre aux autorités responsables de la CCSN, du BCIGSUO, du MSSLDO et d’OPG nommées à la section 6, et ce, aux fins de signature.
  • Préparer un rapport sur les constatations initiales du Groupe de travail.
  • Finaliser le rapport sur les constatations du Groupe de travail qui sera présenté à la Commission.

4.2 Le personnel de la CCSN est responsable de ce qui suit :

  • Afficher l’ébauche du mandat sur le site Web de la CCSN pour une période de commentaires du public qui s’échelonnera sur 30 jours.
  • Afficher l’ébauche du rapport sur les constatations initiales sur le site Web de la CCSN pour une période de commentaires du public qui s’échelonnera sur 30 jours.
  • Produire et présenter les documents appropriés à l’intention des commissaires à l’appui de la réunion publique de la Commission sur ce projet. Le public pourra consulter les documents en vue de la réunion, conformément aux Règles de procédure de la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire.

4.3 Le personnel de la CCSN établira un comité spécial de nature consultative. La composition du comité sera déterminée par la CCSN.

4.4 Le Groupe de travail élaborera un plan de projet décrivant les produits livrables et les échéanciers.

4.5 Le personnel de la CCSN présentera à la Commission des comptes rendus sur l’achèvement de tous les produits livrables indiqués à la section 4.1 dans le cadre du rapport d’étape sur les centrales nucléaires.

4.6 Le Groupe de travail présentera Comité de coordination des urgences nucléaires des comptes rendus sur l’achèvement de tous les produits livrables indiqués à la section 4.1.

5.0 Examen du mandat

5.1 Le mandat ne vise pas à limiter l’efficacité de l’équipe, mais plutôt à orienter l’équipe quant à son organisation et ses processus de travail. Ce document peut être révisé et modifié, au besoin, avec l’accord de tous les membres du Groupe de travail. Toutes les modifications doivent être approuvées par les signataires du présent mandat.

6.0 Surveillance par la direction

6.1 La haute direction de la CCSN offrira une orientation stratégique générale sur les possibilités systémiques d’amélioration relativement au mandat, aux rôles et responsabilités, ainsi qu’aux enjeux critiques du Groupe de travail.

6.2 Les membres du Groupe de travail ont la responsabilité de transmettre l’information de leur haute direction au Groupe de travail et de s’assurer que les questions discutées lors des réunions du Groupe de travail sont présentées à leur haute direction.

6.3 La haute direction de chaque partie signataire peut aussi participer directement, au besoin.

7. Approbation de la direction

J’approuve le présent mandat et je soutiens les membres du Groupe de travail et les responsabilités connexes.

Le Groupe de travail deviendra officiellement actif avec la signature du mandat.

[Nom] [Titre]
Direction de la réglementation des centrales nucléaires

[Nom] [Titre]
Bureau du commissaire des incendies et de la gestion des situations d’urgence

[Nom] [Titre]
Ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée de l’Ontario

[Nom] [Titre]
Ontario Power Generation

Dernière mise à jour :