Emergency preparedness and the CNSC – Exercise Unified Control

Emergency preparedness

To ensure the safety of Canadians and the environment, the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) requires all major nuclear facilities in Canada to have comprehensive emergency preparedness programs and response plans to deal with potential incidents at their sites. These plans must harmonize with those of other stakeholders, including the CNSC, provinces and municipalities, as well other federal partners.

Emergency preparedness is not only an essential part of the CNSC’s defence-in-depth, but also a regulatory requirement. Operators must perform station-level exercises and drills several times a year. Nuclear power plants are required to conduct large integrated emergency exercises every three years. The results of these exercises form part of the CNSC’s compliance program and are considered during licence renewal hearings.

CNSC to participate in Exercise Unified Control: December 6–7, 2017

On December 6 and 7, 2017, the CNSC will be participating in a full-scale, multi-jurisdictional nuclear exercise: Exercise Unified Control (ExUC). Organized and led by Ontario Power Generation (OPG), the exercise will be conducted in a lead-up to the relicensing of the Pickering Nuclear Generating Station in 2018.

ExUC’s primary objective is to test the preparedness of OPG and its partners in response to a nuclear emergency at the Pickering Nuclear Generating Station. Beyond assessing OPG’s emergency plan for Pickering, the objectives include testing the interoperability between organizations, the consultation process during decision making, and the coordination and effective delivery of messages to the public and media. For the CNSC, this exercise will test its updated Nuclear Emergency Response Plan and recently renovated Emergency Operations Centre.

The CNSC’s role

The CNSC plays an important role in emergency preparedness exercises. As an organization, it regularly participates in and evaluates exercises, allowing it to validate the efficacy of emergency preparedness programs at major nuclear sites. In the unlikely scenario of a nuclear emergency, the CNSC:

  • monitors and evaluates the licensee’s response to determine if appropriate actions are being taken
  • assesses the accident to understand progression and possible radiation releases
  • assesses possible offsite consequences and protective actions
  • informs the Government of Canada and the public of its assessment of the situation
CNSC staff deliberate during Exercise Huron Resolve in 2016

If there is one thing to be learned from the Fukushima accident, it is to be prepared for the unexpected. Improvements are continually being tested in the operator-run exercises in which the CNSC and other stakeholders participate. These exercises also verify that the different levels of governments understand their roles and responsibilities during a nuclear emergency.

To maintain and improve its emergency response capacity, the CNSC also regularly reviews its Nuclear Emergency Response Plan to incorporate lessons learned from previous exercises and drills.

Read speaking notes from ExUC kickoff event.

To learn more about nuclear emergency preparedness and response, visit the CNSC’s Emergency management and nuclear safety Web page.

All hands on deck for CNSC staff during a 2016 emergency exercise

Préparation en cas d’urgence à la CCSN – Exercice Unified Control

Préparation en cas d’urgence

Afin d’assurer la sûreté de la population canadienne et de l’environnement, la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) exige que les grandes installations nucléaires du Canada mettent en place des plans approfondis de gestion des urgences afin de gérer tout incident qui pourrait survenir dans leurs installations. Ces plans doivent s’harmoniser avec ceux d’autres parties intéressées, y compris la CCSN, les provinces et municipalités ainsi que d’autres partenaires fédéraux.

Non seulement la préparation en cas d’urgence fait partie intégrante de la défense en profondeur de la CCSN sur la sûreté, mais elle constitue également une exigence réglementaire. Les exploitants de chaque centrale doivent effectuer des exercices et entraînements sur le site plusieurs fois par année. Les centrales nucléaires sont tenues de mener des exercices d’urgence intégrés d’envergure tous les trois ans. Les résultats de ces exercices font partie du programme de conformité de la CCSN et sont pris en compte lors d’audiences sur le renouvellement de permis.

Participation de la CCSN à l’exercice Unified Control : les 6 et 7 décembre 2017

Les 6 et 7 décembre 2017, la CCSN participera à l’exercice Unified Control (ExUC), un exercice intergouvernemental d’intervention en cas d’urgence nucléaire d’envergure. L’exercice est organisé et mené par Ontario Power Generation (OPG) en vue du renouvellement de permis de la centrale de Pickering en 2018.

L’exercice vise principalement à vérifier l’état de préparation d’OPG et de ses partenaires en cas d’urgence nucléaire à la centrale nucléaire de Pickering. En plus d’évaluer le plan en cas d’urgence d’OPG pour Pickering, il sera notamment question de mettre à l’épreuve l’interopérabilité entre les organisations, le processus de consultation pendant la prise de décisions, et la coordination et la communication efficace de messages au public et aux médias. L’exercice permettra à la CCSN de mettre à l’essai son Plan d’intervention en cas d’urgence nucléaire actualisé ainsi que son Centre des mesures d’urgence récemment rénové.

Le rôle de la CCSN

La CCSN joue un rôle important pendant les exercices de préparation aux urgences. En tant qu’organisation, elle participe régulièrement à ce genre d’exercice et en fait l’évaluation, ce qui lui permet de vérifier l’efficacité des programmes d’intervention d’urgence de grands sites nucléaires. Dans l’éventualité peu probable d’une urgence nucléaire, la CCSN :

  • surveille et évalue les interventions du titulaire de permis afin de déterminer si les mesures adéquates sont prises
  • examine l’accident à fond afin de comprendre son évolution et les rejets possibles de substances radioactives
  • détermine les conséquences possibles hors site ainsi que les mesures de protection à prendre
  • informe le gouvernement du Canada et le public de son évaluation de la situation
Des employés de la CCSN délibèrent pendant l’exercice Huron Resolve, tenu en 2016

S’il y a une leçon à tirer de l’accident de Fukushima, c’est qu’il faut se préparer à faire face à l’imprévu. Des améliorations sont constamment mises à l’épreuve pendant ces exercices – menés par l’exploitant – auxquels participent la CCSN et d’autres parties intéressées. Les exercices permettent également de vérifier que les différents ordres de gouvernement comprennent leurs rôles et responsabilités pendant une urgence nucléaire.

Afin de maintenir et d’améliorer ses capacités d’intervention en cas d’urgence, la CCSN procède également régulièrement à l’examen de son Plan d’intervention en cas d’urgence nucléaire afin d’y incorporer des leçons tirées d’exercices et d’entraînement précédents.

Lire les notes l’allocution de l’activité de lancement de l’ExUC.

Pour en savoir plus sur la préparation et l’intervention en cas d’urgence nucléaire, visitez la page Gestion des urgences et sécurité nucléaire sur le site Web de la CCSN.

Le personnel de la CCSN en pleine action lors d’un exercice d’urgence tenu en 2016