Corporate Information

Raison d’être

The Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) was established on May 31, 2000 with the coming into force of the Nuclear Safety and Control Act (NSCA). It replaced the Atomic Energy Control Board established in 1946 by the Atomic Energy Control Act.

The CNSC is a departmental corporation listed in Schedule II of the Financial Administration Act, and reports to Parliament through the Minister of Natural Resources.

Mandate and role

The CNSC regulates the use of nuclear energy and materials to protect health, safety, security of persons and the environment; to implement Canada’s international commitments on the peaceful use of nuclear energy; and to disseminate objective scientific, technical and regulatory information to the public.

Under the NSCA, the CNSC:

  • Regulates the development, production and use of nuclear energy in Canada to protect health, safety and the environment.
  • Regulates the production, possession, use and transport of nuclear substances, and the production, possession and use of prescribed equipment and prescribed information.
  • Implements measures respecting international control of the development, production, transport and use of nuclear energy and substances, including measures respecting the non-proliferation of nuclear weapons and nuclear explosive devices.
  • Is responsible for disseminating objective scientific, technical and regulatory information concerning the CNSC’s activities, and about how the development, production, possession, transport and use of nuclear substances affect the environment and the health and safety of persons.

Operating context

To deliver on its mandate effectively, the CNSC continuously monitors the external environment to ensure that it is ready to adapt to changes that may impact its priorities. The CNSC carries out its mandate against a backdrop characterized by changes in the nuclear industry, growing interest in how the Canadian nuclear industry manages radioactive waste, evolving expectations for public and Indigenous consultation and engagement, and technological innovations that may affect nuclear operations.

Nuclear energy accounts for 15% of electricity generation in Canada. In Ontario, nuclear energy supplies approximately 60% of electricity; in New Brunswick, it supplies almost 40%. The Government of Canada has reaffirmed the role of nuclear energy as part of Canada’s clean energy mix and low-carbon future. This includes national efforts such as the Canadian Small Modular Reactor Roadmap (SMR Roadmap) and international initiatives such as Nuclear Innovation: Clean Energy Future. Much of the nuclear energy industry’s focus has been on the refurbishment projects at the Darlington and Bruce nuclear generating stations, but the CNSC is also working on projects such as licence applications for SMRs and new uranium mines and mills. The CNSC is committed to the safety of all of these projects through robust regulatory oversight.

Canada’s nuclear sector generates various forms of radioactive waste each year. This waste includes used nuclear fuel, which is considered high-level waste, along with low- and intermediate-level waste. The management, storage and transportation of all radioactive waste continue to be issues of interest to some Indigenous communities, the public and other stakeholders. To ensure the safe management of radioactive waste in Canada, the CNSC has a robust regulatory regime that includes strong oversight and enforcement of compliance with regulatory requirements.

There are also social changes impacting the CNSC’s regulation. In an era of increasing public expectations for citizen engagement, coupled with proactive government efforts towards greater openness and transparency, it is essential to provide as much information as possible to people with an interest in nuclear regulation. It is equally important to make that information easily available and accessible across a variety of formats. Addressing these concerns is central to the CNSC’s core responsibility of nuclear regulation, in ensuring that Canadians – including Indigenous peoples – have meaningful information about, and the opportunity to participate in, the nuclear regulatory process.

Finally, technology continues to advance at a rapid pace. A growing gap can be observed between this rate of advancement and the pace at which government adopts policies and regulations. In the context of the CNSC, regulation will need to account for any number of industry-neutral disruptive, innovative and emerging technologies that may impact regular operations in the nuclear industry in the coming years. In addition, nuclear-specific innovations, such as SMRs or new medical therapies, need to be considered and analyzed within the context of the CNSC’s regulatory framework.

Key risks

Risk management is a fundamental part of the CNSC’s mission to protect health, safety, security and the environment; to implement Canada’s international commitments on the peaceful use of nuclear energy; and to disseminate objective scientific, technical and regulatory information to the public. The CNSC has identified the following six business risks:

  • Nuclear reactor accident
  • Malevolent activities
  • Loss or stolen nuclear substances
  • Transportation accidents
  • Nuclear fuel cycle facility accident/event
  • Readiness for new technologies

Nuclear reactor accident

Nuclear power plants apply a defence-in-depth approach that anticipates and mitigates many potential challenges caused by both internal and external events. Nevertheless, an event could still lead to an accident at a nuclear reactor – although the possibility is very unlikely. Much of the CNSC’s compliance verification effort is to avoid such a scenario. To further mitigate the risk of an accident, many of the CNSC’s research projects emphasize preparation for both long-term and post-refurbishment operation of nuclear power plants.

Malevolent activities

Nuclear facilities in Canada face the same security threats that terrorist groups pose to other infrastructure and other states, especially given the strategic importance of the energy sector. Canadian nuclear facilities may be the target of malevolent activities, including cyber-security events. There is also a risk of Canadian nuclear materials, equipment and technology, including prescribed information, being stolen or diverted and used for non-peaceful or malevolent purposes.

The CNSC is responsible for enforcing Canada’s Nuclear Security Regulations and works closely with nuclear operators, law enforcement and intelligence agencies, international organizations and other government departments to ensure that nuclear materials and facilities are adequately protected. Licensees adhere to stringent nuclear security requirements set forth by the CNSC and have programs in place to prevent the theft, loss or illicit use of nuclear substances. Further, the CNSC is consulting with stakeholders to modernize its nuclear security regulatory framework.

Lost or stolen nuclear substances

As the use of nuclear substances increases, or if licensees suspend operations due to financial hardship, there is a higher risk of these substances being inadequately secured and consequently lost. In addition, there is the risk associated with the malicious intent of threat actors whereby nuclear substances are stolen. The risk exposure of lost or stolen nuclear substances is with respect to those substances that could have a radiological impact on the public, workers or environment.

One way that the CNSC mitigates this risk is through the implementation of regulatory document REGDOC-2.12.3, Security of Nuclear Substances: Sealed Sources. This document sets out the minimum security measures that licensees must implement to prevent the loss, sabotage, illegal use, illegal possession, or illegal removal of sealed sources during their entire lifecycle, including while they are in storage, in transport or being stored during transportation.

Transportation accidents

As the use and transportation of nuclear substances increases, so does the possibility of a transportation accident resulting in potential risks to public safety. The CNSC regulates close to 1 million shipments of radioactive material in Canada every year. The responsibility for ensuring regulatory oversight of the safe transport of nuclear substances is shared between the CNSC and Transport Canada. Licensees are required to have a transport security plan as well as an emergency response assistance plan. The CNSC further mitigates this risk is through the implementation of:

Nuclear fuel cycle facility accident/event

The CNSC anticipates and mitigates many potential challenges caused by both internal and external events at nuclear fuel processing facilities. In spite of this effort, there remains a possibility, however unlikely, of an accident or event that could lead to inadvertent releases of radiological, industrial or chemical hazards. In 2020–21, the CNSC published its 2.11 series of regulatory documents, which includes information on waste management and decommissioning. In addition, the CNSC regularly evaluates and updates current mechanisms of engagement with other environmental federal and provincial agencies.

Readiness for new technology

The CNSC’s capacity, capability and regulatory framework must be flexible enough to keep pace with new and/or disruptive technologies as they apply to the nuclear sector in Canada, in order to ensure safety and security and to avoid impeding innovation. Among many activities underway to ensure that it can mitigate the risk of being unable to regulate new and or disruptive technologies, the CNSC has developed a strategy for readiness to regulate advanced reactor technologies and REGDOC-1.1.5, Supplemental Information for Small Modular Reactor Proponents. Consultations with domestic regulatory partners – along with international cooperation with regulatory partners in the U.S. and UK, in areas including R&D intelligence – ensure the sharing of training resources and expertise.

Date modified:

Renseignements sur l’organisation

Raison d’être

La Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) a été créée le 31 mai 2000 avec l’entrée en vigueur de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires (LSRN). Elle a remplacé la Commission de contrôle de l’énergie atomique (CCEA), établie en 1946 en vertu de la Loi sur le contrôle de l’énergie atomique.

La CCSN constitue un établissement public nommé à l’annexe II de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, et elle rend compte au Parlement par l’entremise du ministre des Ressources naturelles.

Mandat et rôle

La CCSN réglemente l’utilisation de l’énergie et des matières nucléaires afin de préserver la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité, de protéger l’environnement, de respecter les engagements internationaux du Canada à l’égard de l’utilisation pacifique de l’énergie nucléaire, et d’informer objectivement le public sur les plans scientifique ou technique ou en ce qui concerne la réglementation du domaine de l’énergie nucléaire.

En vertu de la LSRN, la CCSN :

  • Réglemente le développement, la production et l’utilisation de l’énergie nucléaire au Canada pour préserver la santé et la sécurité et protéger l’environnement.
  • Réglemente la production, la possession, l’utilisation et le transport des substances nucléaires ainsi que la production, la possession et l’utilisation de l’équipement et des renseignements réglementés.
  • Met en œuvre des mesures de contrôle international du développement, de la production, du transport et de l’utilisation de l’énergie et des substances nucléaires, notamment celles qui portent sur la non-prolifération des armes nucléaires et engins nucléaires explosifs.
  • Informe le public, sur les plans scientifique, technique ou réglementaire, au sujet des activités de la CCSN et des conséquences pour la santé et la sécurité des personnes et de l’environnement, du développement, de la production, de la possession, du transport et de l’utilisation des substances nucléaires.

Contexte opérationnel

Soucieuse d’exécuter efficacement son mandat, la CCSN surveille continuellement l’environnement externe afin d’être prête à s’adapter rapidement aux changements qui pourraient avoir une incidence sur ses priorités. La CCSN s’acquitte de son mandat dans un contexte caractérisé par des changements dans le secteur nucléaire, un intérêt croissant à l’égard de la façon dont le secteur nucléaire canadien gère les déchets radioactifs, l’évolution des attentes quant à la consultation et à la mobilisation du public et des autochtones, et des innovations technologiques susceptibles d’avoir une incidence sur les activités nucléaires.

L’énergie nucléaire compte pour 15 % de la production d’électricité au Canada. L’énergie nucléaire représente environ 60 % de l’alimentation en électricité de l’Ontario et près de 40 % de celle du Nouveau-Brunswick. Le gouvernement du Canada a réitéré l’importance de l’énergie nucléaire dans l’éventail des sources d’énergie propre du Canada et son importance pour un avenir à faible émission de carbone. Cela comprend des initiatives nationales comme la Feuille de route canadienne sur les petits réacteurs modulaires (Feuille de route sur les PRM) et des initiatives internationales comme Innovation nucléaire : Un futur d’énergie propre. Le secteur nucléaire s’est surtout concentré sur la réfection des centrales nucléaires de Darlington et de Bruce, mais la CCSN travaille également sur des projets tels que les demandes de permis de PRM et les nouvelles mines et usines de concentration d’uranium. La CCSN est déterminée à assurer la sûreté de tous ces projets grâce à une surveillance réglementaire rigoureuse.

Le secteur nucléaire du Canada génère chaque année diverses formes de déchets radioactifs. Ces déchets comprennent le combustible nucléaire usé considéré comme un déchet de haute activité, ainsi que les déchets de faible et de moyenne activité. La gestion, le stockage et le transport de tous les déchets radioactifs continuent de préoccuper certaines communautés autochtones, le public et d’autres parties intéressées. Pour assurer la gestion sécuritaire des déchets radioactifs au Canada, la CCSN dispose d’un régime de réglementation strict qui comprend des activités rigoureuses de surveillance et d’application de la loi en vue d’assurer le respect des exigences réglementaires.

Certains changements sociaux ont aussi une incidence sur la réglementation de la CCSN. À une époque où les attentes du public à l’égard de la mobilisation citoyenne sont de plus en plus grandes et où le gouvernement déploie des efforts proactifs pour améliorer l’ouverture et la transparence, il est essentiel de fournir le plus de renseignements possible aux personnes qui s’intéressent à la réglementation nucléaire. Il est tout aussi important de faire en sorte que ces renseignements soient facilement disponibles et accessibles dans une variété de formats. Répondre à ces préoccupations est un élément central de la responsabilité essentielle de la CCSN en matière de réglementation nucléaire, qui consiste notamment à veiller à ce que les Canadiens – y compris les peuples autochtones – disposent de renseignements utiles sur le processus de réglementation nucléaire et aient la possibilité d’y prendre part.

Enfin, la technologie continue d’évoluer rapidement. L’écart se creuse entre cette rapidité et le rythme d’adoption des politiques et des règlements par le gouvernement. Dans le contexte de la CCSN, la réglementation devra tenir compte d’un certain nombre de technologies perturbatrices, novatrices, émergentes et neutres pour le secteur nucléaire, susceptibles d’influencer les activités courantes du secteur au cours des prochaines années. En outre, les innovations propres au nucléaire, comme les PRM ou les nouvelles thérapies médicales, doivent aussi être prises en compte et analysées dans le contexte du cadre de réglementation de la CCSN.

Principaux risques

La gestion des risques constitue un élément fondamental de la mission de la CCSN qui consiste à préserver la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité, à protéger l’environnement, à respecter les engagements internationaux du Canada à l’égard de l’utilisation pacifique de l’énergie nucléaire, et à informer objectivement le public sur les plans scientifique ou technique ou en ce qui concerne la réglementation du domaine de l’énergie nucléaire. La CCSN a identifié les six risques commerciaux suivants:

  • Accident mettant en cause un réacteur nucléaire
  • Activités malveillantes
  • Perte ou vol de substances nucléaires
  • Accidents de transport
  • Accident ou événement dans une installation du cycle du combustible nucléaire
  • Préparation aux nouvelles technologies

Accident mettant en cause un réacteur nucléaire

Les centrales nucléaires appliquent une approche liée à la défense en profondeur qui anticipe et atténue de nombreux défis potentiels causés par des événements internes et externes. Néanmoins, un événement pourrait tout de même entraîner un accident dans un réacteur nucléaire, quoique ce soit très peu probable. Une grande partie des efforts de vérification de la conformité de la CCSN visent à éviter un tel scénario. Pour atténuer encore davantage le risque d’accident, bon nombre des projets de recherche de la CCSN visent à préparer l’exploitation à long terme et post-réfection des centrales nucléaires.

Activités malveillantes

Les installations nucléaires au Canada sont confrontées aux mêmes menaces pour la sécurité que les groupes terroristes posent à d’autres infrastructures et à d’autres États, surtout compte tenu de l’importance stratégique du secteur énergétique. Les installations nucléaires canadiennes peuvent être la cible d’activités malveillantes, y compris les événements liés à la cybersécurité. Il existe aussi des risques que des matières, des technologies ou de l’équipement nucléaires canadiens soient détournés ou volés et utilisés à des fins non pacifiques ou malveillantes.

La CCSN est responsable de la mise en application du Règlement sur la sécurité nucléaire du Canada et travaille en étroite collaboration avec les exploitants d’installations nucléaires, les organismes du renseignement et d’application de la loi, des organisations internationales et d’autres ministères afin de veiller à ce que les matières et les installations nucléaires soient protégées de manière adéquate. Les titulaires de permis se conforment aux exigences de sécurité nucléaire rigoureuses établies par la CCSN et ont en place des programmes pour prévenir le vol, la perte ou l’utilisation illicite de substances nucléaires. En outre, la CCSN consulte les parties intéressées afin de moderniser son cadre de réglementation de la sécurité nucléaire.

Perte ou vol de substances nucléaires

À mesure que l’utilisation des substances nucléaires augmente, ou si les titulaires de permis suspendent leurs activités en raison de difficultés financières, le risque que les substances nucléaires soient mal protégées et donc perdues peut augmenter. En outre, il existe un risque associé à l’intention malveillante d’auteurs de menace qui volent une substance nucléaire. L’exposition au risque lié à la perte ou au vol de substances nucléaires concerne les substances qui pourraient avoir une incidence radiologique sur le public, les travailleurs ou l’environnement.

La CCSN atténue ce risque grâce, notamment, à la mise en œuvre du document d’application de la réglementation intitulé REGDOC-2.12.3 : La sécurité des substances nucléaires : sources scellées. Ce document définit les mesures minimales de sécurité que les titulaires de permis doivent mettre en œuvre pour prévenir la perte, le sabotage, l’utilisation illégale, la possession illégale ou l’enlèvement illégal des sources scellées tout au long de leur cycle de vie, y compris pendant leur stockage, leur transport ou leur stockage en transit.

Accidents de transport

L’utilisation et le transport des substances nucléaires augmentent, tout comme la possibilité d’un accident de transport entraînant des risques pour la sécurité publique. La CCSN réglemente près d’un million d’expéditions de matières radioactives au Canada chaque année. La CCSN et Transports Canada se partagent la responsabilité d’exercer une surveillance réglementaire pour assurer la sécurité du transport des substances nucléaires. Les titulaires de permis doivent avoir en place un plan de sécurité du transport ainsi qu’un plan d’intervention en cas d’urgence. La CCSN atténue davantage ce risque grâce aux ressources suivantes :

Accident ou événement dans une installation du cycle du combustible nucléaire

La CCSN prévoit et atténue plusieurs défis potentiels causés par des événements internes et externes survenant aux installations de traitement du combustible nucléaire. Malgré ces efforts, il reste une possibilité, quoique peu probable, qu’il y ait un accident ou un événement pouvant mener à des rejets accidentels radiologiques, industriels ou chimiques ou à des dangers. En 2020-2021, la CCSN a publié sa série de documents d’application de la réglementation 2.11, qui comprend des renseignements sur la gestion des déchets et le déclassement. Par ailleurs, la CCSN évalue et met à jour régulièrement ses mécanismes de mobilisation avec d’autres organismes fédéraux et provinciaux à vocation environnementale.

Préparation aux nouvelles technologies

La capacité et le cadre de réglementation de la CCSN doivent être suffisamment souples pour suivre le rythme des technologies nouvelles ou perturbatrices qui s’appliquent au secteur nucléaire au Canada, afin d’assurer la sûreté et la sécurité et de ne pas entraver l’innovation. Parmi les nombreuses activités en cours pour s’assurer que l’organisation est en mesure d’atténuer le risque de ne pouvoir réglementer les technologies nouvelles ou perturbatrices, la CCSN a élaboré une stratégie sur l’état de préparation à la réglementation des technologies de réacteurs avancés et le document REGDOC-1.1.5, Renseignements supplémentaires pour les promoteurs de petits réacteurs modulaires. Les consultations avec les partenaires de réglementation nationaux et la coopération internationale avec les partenaires de réglementation aux États-Unis et au Royaume-Uni, y compris au sujet du renseignement sur la R-D, assurent le partage des ressources de formation et de l’expertise.

Dernière mise à jour :